SIGURD BRONGER – GOLDSMITH ART, COMTEMPORTARY JEWELLERY

bronger_cov_z1.jpg

“Stay curious, and a pure idea will automatically come to you.”

—Sigurd Bronger


This artist is the one my tutor recommend, the materials that Bronger uses in his work is quite interesting. I found this book in the library. Also, I’ve been read an interview by Olivia Shih, she asked him,

” Your signature work is known for its generous dosage of readymade and surrealism, coupled with a sense of absurdity. Do you approach everyday life with a similar humor? “

The Bronger replied,

Yes! Very often I do. I look around and often find myself in absurd situations. Each new absurd experience teaches me more about myself—through how I react and how I behave.

For some reasons I like the way he answer this question. For artists, everyone has different way to get their own inspiration. Also, every time we create our own work is like we get into a brand new environment which allow us to gain more knowledge by doing it.

Slide1.jpg

SIGURD BRONGER: IN BETWEEN

Click to the interview of Olivia Shih

4 thoughts on “SIGURD BRONGER – GOLDSMITH ART, COMTEMPORTARY JEWELLERY

  1. Great to see you still posting. The recent additions of examples of work by Bronger and Ramshaw are very appropriate for your creative exploration. Bronger’s work I feel operates on a number of levels – It can be received at face value as a visual and often ironic pun, but can also be seen as challenging perceptions of jewellery whilst also respecting traditional values of jewellery. What do you think?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Maria, it was nice to see you left a comment on my blog. Personally, at the moment when I see Bronger’s work, I felt really shock. How come a person can present jewellery in an unpredictable way? Especially he preformed his jewellery work above 3 decade period of the time, his work might not easy for people to understand due to people may regarded his work as avant-garde art. Or the art trend is searching for the reform. However, by having avant-garde art around us with progress and change, also which requires a spirit of the new. Most of his work impressed me a lot, take ” Diamond Necklace ” 2007 for example, basically it’s a diamond spray which made by diamond fluid (1 ct), plastic dispenser and rubber cord, 80×25 mm (Skeide et al.,2011).

      He use goose or duck eggs to present his jewellery, e.g. ” Goose Egg Ring ” 1997 and Brooch ” Wearable Device for a Goose Egg ” 1998 this idea makes me found quite intriguing. According to Gali (2011) “ as the shape already made in each eggs, the shape has a different basis in experience than a created shape. In the point egg is not a depiction of something, it is what it is. The shape is presented, not represented. “ Also, the fascination not just with the shape, but also with the lightness and airiness. From the work of Goose Egg Ring, when it erect, it looks like a hot air balloon (Veiteberg et al.,2011).

      The work of Wendy Ramshaw even impresses me, especially the collection of Picasso’s Ladies. Picasso is one of the artists that I admire, since I was a kid I’ve fancied his work. The colours of his work are my inspiration, especially in my previous artwork. I like the way she presents her jewellery. The cylinder as the stage to show her work in the decent way. Ramshaw (1991) says “ I responded only to the image on the card, not to the personal history of Picasso or to prior knowledge of the sitter. I responded only to what I saw – shapes and colours, nothing more. ”. Greenhalgh (1998) says, “ Picasso made art containing ladies wearing jewellery; Ramshaw has made jewellery containing ladies who are art. “. Ramshaw discovered her own language, she created an unique conversation. Her jewellery often predicated on conversation between lines and colours, she brings her own strength to structure the character firmly of Picasso’s painting (Vaizey, 1998). As Picasso (1964) says, “ They don’t invent a type of beauty every year. “, this makes me think that’s the reason why “ classic “ this word exist.

      Like

  2. I like your reflection of my work.
    I hope you can come to opening at Die Neue Sammlung (Design Museum )Münich ,Germany during the famous Munich Jewellery week Opening 1 March. 2024

    Like

Leave a comment